There is a new approach to buying legal services and the new way forward is the mission

of the Buying Legal® Council.


MASTER CLASS PRICING LEGAL SERVICES:

An Online Course for Buyers and Sellers of Legal Services

Pricing legal services can be quite challenging. In this four-part Master Class Pricing Legal Services, you will learn how to price legal services. Pay the right price for the value you receive:

  • Forecast and scope multi-year demand for legal services
  • Predict and reduce legal fees
  • Introduce AFAs that will better manage legal spend
  • Negotiate fee arrangements that are fair, sustainable and cost-effective
  • Implement measures to reduce external spend by up to 20%
  • Budget complex matters using legal project management
  • Acquire proven techniques to develop your own short-term plan

This workshop will benefit both experienced procurement professionals and senior law firm executives. It provides a rare opportunity to discuss legal economics and management issues with peers on both the buying and selling side.

      • Module 1 - Procurement Strategy and Scope of Work – collaboration strategy between Procurement and Legal; better forecasting multi-year demand for legal services including complex work; balancing competence, coverage and cost objectives, and moving past relationship-based sourcing of legal services to strategic collaboration with law firms
      • Module 2 - RFPs, Invitations for Strategic Partnering and Evaluating Proposals – approaching the market for the third time in 10 years; effective Q&As for sourcing; selection criteria; reducing the number of firms yet again nationally and globally; streamlining the sourcing process
      • Module 3 - Non-Hourly Fee Arrangements and Negotiations to Arrive at a Fair Price – multi-year work allocation to firms; abandoning hourly-based fee arrangements; fees for performance and innovation; two-step negotiations; ensuring that legal departments and law firms invest in innovation to climb out of the hourly rut
      • Module 4 - Why ROIs and LPMs Matter; Managing the Transitions; and Innovation – why records of instruction and legal project management are pre-requisites for AFAs; linking fees to innovation to improve results and service and to reduce costs; how best to drive change once the negotiations are over



Please note that the 90-min ONLINE Master Classes are held at:

Europe: 17:30 EET / 16:30 CET / 15:30 GMT 
Americas: 10:30am ET / 9:30am CT / 8:30am MT / 7:30am PT



MEET THE PRESENTERS

Richard Burcher LLB, Managing Director, Validatum® 

Richard is a former New Zealand practicing lawyer and managing partner with over 40 years-experience. Following post-­‐graduate study in pricing-­‐related disciplines, Richard has been based in London since 2012 as Managing Director of Validatum®. Legal commentators regularly describe him as the leading law firm pricing consultant in the world. Validatum® has worked with over 300 law firms in 22 countries. Visit www.validatum.com for more information.

Richard G. Stock M.A. FCIS, CMC – Managing Partner, Catalyst Consulting

Richard has been working with lawyers for more than 35 years – first as a client representative, then as a legal executive with a multinational law firm, and for more than 25 years as a legal services management consultant. He has been a member of Buying Legal Council for five years. Richard has developed and managed 85 RFPs and ISPs for more than 100 companies. He has negotiated arrangements with more than 350 law firms covering 125 countries. Visit www.catalystlegal.com for more information.

This is an interactive program incorporating your needs as a participant whenever possible. Participants can also submit questions they would like addressed. Email Richard Stock at rstock@catalystlegal.com or Richard Burcher at richard.burcher@validatum.com before January 6, 2020.


Materials include presentation, articles and templates as well as resources available from Buying Legal Council. 

How to Get the Most from the Program - This is an interactive program incorporating your needs as a participant whenever possible. As an additional advantage, participants can submit questions they would like addressed up to 14 days before the session by sending them to Richard Stock at rstock@catalystlegal.com and Richard Burcher at richard.burcher@validatum.com

PRICING

The price includes all four Master Class webinar modules and online access to all class materials including presentation slides, articles, and templates as well as a certificate upon completion.

General Admission: US$ 650

Price for Friends of the Buying Legal Council: US$500 

Price for Members of the Buying Legal Council: US$400

Members and Friends please email Doria to sign up.

SIGN UP

Pricing Master Class
 


Cancellation & Refund Policy: Written requests for registration refunds must be received via email (silvia@buyinglegal.com) by December 21, 2019. All conference cancellations received on or before that date will receive a full refund less an administrative fee of

$100. No refunds will be made after that date (name substitutions only). Refunds are not given for no-shows.